2017 prize Water, architecture and the town

Water, today a precious and strategic resource, has long been present in towns and cities in the form of rivers and canals, lakes and fountains. A presence giving rise to works of architecture and public spaces… to watermills and bridges, to reservoirs and aqueducts, to pools and fountains, to supply systems and distribution networks. Water is also intimately linked to parks and gardens, the inspiration for landscaping and an entire architecture that highlights its presence (waterfalls, grottos, ponds, etc.)

Many towns are also linked directly to the shores of seas, oceans and large lakes, giving rise to a variety of architecture associated with leisure resorts and maritime activities (quays, warehouses, dockyards and slipways).

Today, growing ecological awareness and the fight against waste has placed water back on the agenda. Towns are opening up old canals that had been filled in and, more generally, architecture and landscape projects include requirements in favour of recycling water.

The 2017 EUROPEAN PRIZE will reward architecture, urban projects, and developments closely linked to water and its uses. This could, for example, be the highlighting of existing or new constructions (mills, reservoirs, dockyards, warehouses, engineering works), the creation of new neighbourhoods or improvements in which water is a notable feature, the reopening of urban canals and improvement of quaysides and banks, or exemplary and original projects for recovering and reusing rainwater and runoff water.

A special prize will be awarded to one or several imaginative projects on the theme of "water and the landscape, architecture and the town." The scale, subject, programme and location of these projects is for each participant to decide.

 

Contact

Lauréline Tissot
+ 32 2 642 24 80
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Facebook

European Prize of Architecture Philippe Rotthier

Established in 1982 by the architect Philippe Rotthier, this triennial prize rewards works of collective and cultural value with regional roots and using natural and sustainable materials that draw on the genius of the European town and a dialogue with the past and with history.

The prize-winning works are selected by juries composed of leading European figures and have included the writers Adrien Goetz and Françoise Lalande, the journalists Sergio Frau and Katia Pecnik, the designer Matali Crasset, the historians Bruno Foucart, Charles Jencks and David Watkin, the artist Bernard Métais, and the architects Anna Heringer, Christian Biecher, Ben Bolgar, André Jacqmain, Léon Krier, Michael Lycoudis, Dimitri Porphyrios, Paolo Portoghesi, Rudy Ricciotti and Oscar Tusquets.

Juries, chaired by Maurice Culot, have often chosen to select sometimes little known works and to recognise original approaches, such as those by François Spoerry and his lacustrine architecture, by Abdel-Wahed El-Wakil for his mosques and Eusebio Leal Spengler for the restoration of the city of Havana or by the film-maker Emir Kusturica for his Küstendorf village in Serbia. Owns and institutions have also been awarded the Philippe Rotthier Prize, including Bayonne, Le Plessis-Robinson and Val d’Europe in France, Palermo in Italy, Poundbury in the United Kingdom, Dresden in Allemagne, and the Äkroken campus in Sweden.

Philippe Rotthier, Prize founder

Maison à Santa Eularia (Ibiza)

Polynésie

Philippe Rotthier was born in 1941. After qualifying as an architect, in 1964 from the École de la Cambre in Brussels, Philippe Rotthier worked with the architect André Jacqmain and in 1967 was a founding member of the Atelier d’Architecture de Genval. In 1973, he settled on the island of Ibiza where he built and renovated 80 houses in the vernacular style. His method of architectural design and production have been the subject of a number of publications (Ibiza. Le Palais Paysan, 1984; Maisons sur l’île d’Ibiza, 1990; Architectures Arquitecturas Ibiza, 1997; XXX à Ibiza, 2003).

In 1982 he founded the European Prize for the Reconstruction of the City and in 1986 the  Fondation pour l’Architecture in Brussels.

In 1985 he founded the Talles d’Estudis de l’Hàbitat Pitiú in San José that works to protect the traditional Ibiza habitat.

Since 2006 he has divided his time between Ibiza, Brussels and Polynesia where, on a  motu on the island of Tahaa, he built his own home using local materials.

In 2011, he founded the Architecture Museum – La Loge in Brussels, dedicated to contemporary creation.

Prix 2017 L’eau, l’architecture et la ville

L’eau, devenue une denrée précieuse et stratégique, a longtemps été très présente dans les villes sous forme de rivières, canaux, lacs, fontaines… et a engendré des architectures et des espaces publics, moulins, ponts et passerelles, réservoirs et aqueducs, citernes, bassins et fontaines, systèmes d’approvisionnement, réseaux de distribution… L’eau est aussi intimement liée aux parcs et jardins et a inspiré des paysages et toute une architecture liée à sa mise en valeur (chutes, cascades, grottes, canaux, grands bassins…).

De nombreuses villes sont aussi liées directement aux rives de mer, d’océans, de grands lacs et ont suscité des architectures liées à l’eau et la villégiature, aux activités maritimes (quais, entrepôts, arsenaux, cales…).

La prise de conscience écologique et la lutte contre les gaspillages ont ramené l’eau à l’ordre du jour. Des villes ouvrent d’anciens canaux qui avaient été remblayés et d’une manière générale, les projets architecturaux et paysagers comportent des prescriptions en faveur du recyclage de l’eau.

Le PRIX EUROPEEN 2017 récompensera des architectures, des projets urbains, des aménagements intimement liés à l’eau et ses usages. Il pourra par exemple s’agir de la valorisation de bâtiments existants ou neufs (moulins, réservoirs, arsenaux, halles, ouvrages d’art…), de la création de quartiers ou d’aménagements où l’eau est une composante marquante, de la réouverture de canaux urbains et l’aménagement de quais et de rives, de projets exemplaires et originaux de récupération et réutilisation des eaux de pluie et de ruissellement…

Un prix spécial sera attribué à un ou plusieurs projets d’imagination autour du thème « l’eau et le paysage, l’architecture et la ville ». L’échelle, le thème, le programme, les lieux éventuels de ces projets sont laissés à l’appréciation de chacun.

 

LAURÉATS ET NOMINÉS 2017

 

Contact

Lauréline Tissot
+ 32 2 642 24 80
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. 

Facebook

Prix européen d'architecture Philippe Rotthier

Fondé en 1982 par l’architecte Philippe Rotthier, ce prix triennal distingue des réalisations qui ont une valeur collective et culturelle, prennent appui sur le génie de la ville européenne, le dialogue avec le passé et l’histoire, l’ancrage régional et la mise en œuvre de matériaux naturels et durables.

Les réalisations primées ont été sélectionnées par des jurys composés de personnalités européennes dont, entre autres, les écrivains Adrien Goetz et Françoise Lalande, les journalistes Sergio Frau et Katia Pecnik, la designer Matali Crasset, les historiens Bruno Foucart, Charles Jencks et David Watkin, le plasticien Bernard Métais, les architectes Anna Heringer, Christian Biecher, Ben Bolgar, André Jacqmain, Léon Krier, Michael Lycoudis, Dimitri Porphyrios, Oscar Tusquets, Paolo Portoghesi, Rudy Ricciotti.

Les jurys, sous la Présidence de Maurice Culot, ont souvent choisi de sélectionner des réalisations parfois peu connues et de récompenser des démarches originales à l’image de celles de François Spoerri et de ses architectures lacustres, de Abdel-Wahed El-Wakil pour ses mosquées, de Eusebio Leal Spengler pour la restauration de la ville de La Havane ou encore du cinéaste Emir Kusturica et de son village de Küstdendorf en Serbie. Des villes et des institutions ont aussi été primées : Bayonne, Val d’Europe, Le Plessis-Robinson en France, Palerme en Italie, Poundbury en Angleterre, Dresde en Allemagne, le campus de Äkroken en Suède…

Philippe Rotthier, fondateur du Prix

Maison à Santa Eularia (Ibiza)

Polynésie

Né en 1941, diplômé architecte de l'École de la Cambre en 1964, Philippe Rotthier travaille avec l'architecte André Jacqmain et devient en 1967 membre fondateur de l'Atelier d'Architecture de Genval. En 1973, il s'installe sur l'île d'Ibiza où il réalise et réhabilite quelque 80 maisons dans un mode vernaculaire. Sa méthode de conception et ses réalisations ont fait l'objet de diverses publications (Ibiza. Le Palais Paysan –essai sur les formes et techniques dans l'habitat archaïque-, 1984; Maisons sur l'île d'Ibiza, 1990; Architectures Arquitecturas Ibiza, 1997; XXX à Ibiza, 2003). Il réalise de nombreux voyages, à la découverte de formes d'habitats nomades et vernaculaires (Grand Nord, Australie, Namibie, Amérique du Sud, Polynésie...).

En 1982, il crée le Prix européen de la Reconstruction de la ville et, en 1986, la Fondation pour l'Architecture à Bruxelles.

En 1985, il fonde à San José le Talles d'Estudis de l'Hàbitat Pitiú qui œuvre en faveur de la protection de l'habitat traditionnel ibizenco.

À partir de 2006, il partage son temps entre Ibiza, Bruxelles et la Polynésie où il a construit, sur un Motu de l'île de Tahaa, sa propre habitation en matériaux locaux.

En 2011, il fonde l'Architecture Museum – La Loge à Bruxelles, dédié à la création contemporaine.